Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


hermitage of san viviano, Lucca - Italy

The hermitage of San Viviano or Viano is a suggestive building carved into the rock overlooking the Arnetola valley,  where the hermit Viviano lived.

The small sanctuary of San Viviano is now a chapel. Located a short distance from Campocatino, it dominates the Fosso della Tambura and the Arnetola Valley.
Documents of a pastoral visit dating back to 1568 testify to the existence of the relics of Blessed Viviano. The popular legend of the community of sieves handed down the history and miracles of this character from Reggio Emilia.
The hut was discovered by chance in 1993; inside there were probably bones of the hermit who does not know exactly when he lived
The Chapel of San Viviano is an example of spontaneous architecture, built between the crags and cliffs of the Tambura, partially excavated in the rock, a rare case of integration between the work of man and nature.
We reached it along the CAI 147 path, starting from the Campocatino plain, a beautiful trek suitable for everyone even if quite tiring.

View More »

Copyright: Massimo Storari
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 23000x11500
Taken: 16/08/2020
Uploaded: 16/08/2020


Tags: arnetola valley; fosso della tambura; popular legend; spontaneous architecture; cliffs; cliffs of the tambura; rock; cai 147; trekking; hermitage; san viviano; stairway in the rock; architecture; art; religion; prayer; sanctuary; italy; tuscany; garfagn
More About Tuscany

The Tuscany, one of the most beautiful Italian regions, is known throughout the world for its Landscapes and for the Works of Art that it houses (It is the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance). Six localities have been designated World Heritage Sites: the Historical Center of Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and Pienza, the Square of the Cathedral of Pisa with the Leaning Tower and the Val d'Orcia. It is in the central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna (north), Marche and Umbria (east) and Lazio (South). The West coast is bathed from the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Sea; here we can find the islands of the Tuscan archipelago including the island of Elba. The regional capital is Florence and the other provinces are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.