Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Deel dit panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Lees meer
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, neem contact met ons op
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, neem contact met ons op


Quartet Fort Yuexiu Park Guangzhou
Guangdong Province

Quartet Fort is located in Yuexiu Park in the centre of Guangzhou. Previously known as Fort Yongning. It was originally built in 1653 (Qing Dynasty) and is one of the important monuments of the Opium War against the British in 1841. It was held by the British (along with several other forts around Guangzhou, this being the British  HQ. As a result of action by thousands of farmers and peasants it was surrounded. In fear of their lives, the troops, with help from the corrupt local government officers escaped and abandoned the fort. It was then destroyed by the farmers and peasants. By the time of  the Second Opium War (1856-1860), it had been re-taken and re-built by the British, but was again taken and destroyed. In the early 1960's during excavations, a single cannon was found, this is now on display at the entrance to the Guangdong Revolutionary History Museum at Martyrs Park. Yuexiu Park is the largest park in down town Guangzhou, covering an area of 860,000 square meters (212.5 acres). It is made up of three artificial lakes, and seven mountains, all part of Yue Xiu Mountain. The park is easily accessed from the Guangzhou Metro Line 2.

Copyright: Richard Hope
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 16598x8299
Taken: 06/04/2015
Geüpload: 07/04/2015
Geüpdatet: 06/01/2019
Keer bekeken:


Tags: fort; quartet fort; yongning fort; circular fort; opium war; british; 1653; 1841; 1960; martyrs park; museum; five-ram sculpture; goat; yuexiu park; guangzhou; china; april; 2015; cannon; qing; bronze; iron; krupp; metro; guangdong; gardens; park; sculpture; granite; immortals; rice; zhenhai tower; bombax ceiba; cotton tree
comments powered by Disqus
More About Guangdong Province

Guangdong Province, referred to as "Yue ", the provincial capital Guangzhou, the jurisdiction of cities in 21 provinces, including two deputy provincial cities (Guangzhou, Shenzhen), prefecture-level cities 19. Formerly Kwangtung, Canton, is Pinyin GuǎngDōng. Guangdong is the southern coast of mainland China, a province located south of Nanling, the South China Sea, Hong Kong and Macao, Guangxi, Hunan, Jiangxi and Fujian border, and Hainan across the sea. It is a Han Chinese as the main provinces, the country's 56 ethnic groups are distributed in the province. Guangdong customs and in language, history and culture, have a unique aspect, the internal department has three people, and northern China are very different. Guangdong GDP value has surpassed Taiwan as China's most economically developed provinces in the most open culture.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.