Dziurawa Przełęcz 1836 m n.p.m.
Loading ...

Panoramic photo by Maciej G. Szling EXPERT Taken 13:40, 25/08/2012 - Views loading...


Dziurawa Przełęcz 1836 m n.p.m.

The World > Europe

  • Like / unlike
  • thumbs up
  • thumbs down
comments powered by Disqus

Nearby images in Europe


A: Łopata 1957 m n.p.m

by Maciej G. Szling, 560 meters away

Łopata 1957 m n.p.m

B: Wołowiec

by Maciej G. Szling, 580 meters away


C: Wołowiec 2064 m n.p.m.

by Maciej G. Szling, 610 meters away

Wołowiec 2064 m n.p.m.

D: Niska Przełecz

by Maciej G. Szling, 740 meters away

Niska Przełecz

E: szlak na Wołowiec

by Maciej G. Szling, 780 meters away

szlak na Wołowiec

F: Szlak na Wołowiec

by Maciej G. Szling, 860 meters away

Szlak na Wołowiec

G: na szlaku

by Maciej G. Szling, 1.0 km away

na szlaku

H: Dolina Wyżnia Chochołowska

by Maciej G. Szling, 1.1 km away

Dolina Wyżnia Chochołowska

I: Summit Rakon in Tatra mountains

by Petr Kolčář, 1.2 km away

Rakon - 1876 m. The main peak in the Western Tatras ridge known locally as Rohace. Instead of taking ...

Summit Rakon in Tatra mountains

This panorama was taken in Europe

This is an overview of Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.

The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.

Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".

Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights.

In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. 

Text by Steve Smith.

Share this panorama