Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


Jauniela Street
Development of Jauniela (New Street) Street is very picturesque. The street was built in the late 16th century on the northern part of the Dome Cathedral, after erection of the stone wall, which separated the church stone graveyard from the city’s territory. Some houses adjoined to the Dome Cloister were built on the old graveyard, where during digs there were found burial stock, partially dated back to the 12th century. The street was called Jauna (New) and in 1923 it was renamed to Jauniela Street (New Street). In 1936-37 the structures were demolished from the northern part of the Dome Cathedral and the present Dome Square took form, so Jauniela Street, as today, ran from this Square.
Copyright: Vil Muhametshin
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 6000x3000
Taken: 07/01/2008
Uploaded: 16/09/2008
Updated: 28/02/2015


Tags: street
comments powered by Disqus
More About Riga

Originated from a small fishermen village, for centuries Riga has been an important part of the trade chain between Russia and Western Europe. A lively crossroad of cultures and backgrounds for over 800 years, the historical centre of Riga has accumulated an impressive cultural baggage and today is justly included in the UNESCO’s World Heritage list.