natural cork forests, Parque natural los Alcornocales

l Parque Natural Los Alcornocales, con una superficie aproximada de 170.000 hectáreas, está situado en el extremo occidental de la Cordillera Bética, siendo el tercero en extensión de los espacios naturales protegidos existentes en Andalucía. Pertenece a la provincia de Cádiz, excepto su borde nororiental, ubicado en la provincia de Málaga. De la primera ocupa parte del territorio de 16 términos municipales (Alcalá de los Gazules, Algar, Algeciras, Arcos de la Frontera, Benalup, Benaocaz, Castellar de la Frontera, El Bosque, Jerez de la Frontera, Jimena de la Frontera, Los Barrios, Medina Sidonia, Prado del Rey, San José del Valle, Tarifa y Ubrique) y uno (Cortes de la Frontera) de la segunda. http://www.alcornocales.org/gestor//index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=96&Itemid=87

Copyright: Jonathan Vazquez
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 9884x4942
Taken: 29/05/2013
Uploaded: 30/05/2013
Updated: 14/10/2014


Tags: reserva natural; bosque; montana; mountain; forest; nature reserve
comments powered by Disqus
More About Europe

Europe is generally agreed to be the birthplace of western culture, including such legendary innovations as the democratic nation-state, football and tomato sauce.The word Europe comes from the Greek goddess Europa, who was kidnapped by Zeus and plunked down on the island of Crete. Europa gradually changed from referring to mainland Greece until it extended finally to include Norway and Russia.Don't be confused that Europe is called a continent without looking like an island, the way the other continents do. It's okay. The Ural mountains have steadily been there to divide Europe from Asia for the last 250 million years. Russia technically inhabits "Eurasia".Europe is presently uniting into one political and economic zone with a common currency called the Euro. The European Union originated in 1993 and is now composed of 27 member states. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.Do not confuse the EU with the Council of Europe, which has 47 member states and dates to 1949. These two bodies share the same flag, national anthem, and mission of integrating Europe. The headquarters of the Council are located in Strasbourg, France, and it is most famous for its European Court of Human Rights. In spite of these two bodies, there is still no single Constitution or set of laws applying to all the countries of Europe. Debate rages over the role of the EU in regards to national sovereignty. As of January 2009, the Lisbon Treaty is the closest thing to a European Constitution, yet it has not been approved by all the EU states. Text by Steve Smith.