Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


Porta dels Països Catalans, languedoc, France

"Porta dels Països Catalans" - The gateway to Catalonia

The Gate of the Catalan Countries (coordinates: 42 ° 51''16 "N 2 ° 56''16" E / 42.85444, 2.93778) (in Catalan: Porta dels Països Catalans) is a work of sculptor Emili Armengol which mark the beginning of the region of Catalonia in Salce, Roussillon, France.

The overall picture of the sculpture is reminiscent of the characteristic forms of a Catalan farmhouse. The columns are made of COR-TEN steel are stretched out like the fingers of one hand, and form an allegory of Senyera, the flag of Catalonia. The floor plan is a sickle and is thereby directly related to the national anthem of Catalonia Els Revolt (The Reaper).

The arches are arranged so that they are transparent to the eight directions of the compass. According to the ideas of Emili Armengol the gate will be open to all people, thoughts, skin colors, languages or faiths wide open. It is only a landmark that shows where to start the Països Catalans. It should not exclude anyone, but welcome all who wish to advocate.

After more than 20 years after the project was the gate of the Catalan Countries (an initiative of citizens of the region), on Sunday 28 September 2003, north inaugurated by Salce. The design and construction was financed by the Union for deie Catalan region.

View More »

Copyright: Wilfried Pinsdorf
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 6000x3000
Taken: 29/11/2009
Uploaded: 29/11/2009


Tags: catalans; france; languedoc-roussillon; porta dels països catalans; 360plus
More About Languedoc-Roussillon

Languedoc-Roussillon is a French region which is composed of five departments. It is bounded by Spain, Andorra in the south and along the Mediterranean Sea (Gulf of Lions). Other French region limit the regions of Languedoc-Roussillon: Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, Rhone-Alpes, Auvergne, Midi-Pyrenees. The natural boundaries are the Pyrenees and the so-called threshold Lauragais, the Cévennes and the Rhône.In 2004, the Regional Council chose a joint new logo symbolizes the sun, which has the motto: "Living in Septimania. In fact, the current president of the Regional Council, Georges Freche wanted to rename the area "Septimania", but then it has to do so. Septimania is an old name, used since the fifth century for the region, but the Department of Lozère was not yet among them. Above all, the Catalans rejected by an overwhelming majority of this amendment. After numerous protests, including a demonstration of about 8,000 people on the 8th October 2005 in Perpignan, Georges Freche was the project of Bezeichnugsänderung in "Septimania" and the name of the region Languedoc-Roussillon "is introduced as an official designation for the Regon.The languages of the region along with French, Occitan (Languedoc, Auvergne, Provence), and Catalan. The name of the region favors Lengadòc-Rosselhon Occitan and Catalan Rosselló-Llenguadoc.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.