Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


Valle Crucis Abbey, Denbighshire

The abbey at Valle Crucis was founded in 1201. Its name, meaning Valley of the Cross, is taken from a stone pillar located nearby which was erected in the 9th century in honour of Eilseg, a Welsh chieftain. It was the last of 14 Cistercian monasteries to be built in Wales during the medieval period. 

The abbey endured fire, plague and rebellion but finally closed in 1537 during the Dissolution of the Monasteries. By this time it had become the second richest in Wales.

Copyright: Gary Davies
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 17316x8658
Taken: 04/09/2019
Uploaded: 28/04/2020
Updated: 04/05/2020


Tags: valle crucis; valley of the cross; welsh; wales; denbighshire; abbey; ruins; monastery; historic building; heritage; cistercian; medieval; eilseg
More About Wales

Wales (Cymru in the Welsh language) is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.  The major cities are Cardiff, Swansea, Newport and Bangor.  The city of St. Davids is the smallest city in the UK with a population around 2000.  Wales itself has a population of around 3 million.  The Welsh language is spoken by around 20% of the population.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.