The complex of the former Franciscan monastery in Zittau is one of the oldest and most important architectural ensembles of the town of Zittau. East and west wings house the rich and precious collections of the Metropolitan Museum.
The south side does the church (Peter and Paul Church) with its 70 m high tower is a - it is since 1598 the Evangelical Lutheran church community as a church.
The medieval West part was built in the late Renaissance and Baroque periods, and received his splendid gable 1658-1662 under Mayor Henry of Heffter (hence "Heffterbau considered). Its ground floor was used within the centuries as a chapel of the monastery, Bohemian church, gymnasium and exhibition hall. On 1st Upstairs, the students played the Zittau Gymnasium from 1710 theaters. Later a part of the Library Board was established, since 1937 the hall was used as an exhibition space of the museum, since 2004 he has been home to our permanent collection.
In the 2nd Upstairs was 1709 the grand opening of the Baroque hall. It makes a show space for art and curiousity collection of Zittau library one of the oldest urban areas in Central Europe dar. Museum now houses the chamber of wonders and he is unique treasures from today's Christian-way library and the museum inventory.
Quelle / source: http://www.zittau.de/6_freizeit/museen/stadtmuseum/franziskaner.htm