Grange Park is a two-hectare greenspace in downtown Toronto. The park was originally part of The Grange estate built in 1820 by the Boulton family, who played an influential role in developing the young city of Toronto. The area now known as Grange Park served as the Boulton family’s front lawn, with a pathway leading from John Street to the front door of The Grange house and an elliptical path for carriages. These pathways remain in the park today, as a testament to its heritage.
In 1910, Harriette Boulton Smith bequeathed The Grange house and estate to the newly founded Art Gallery of Toronto, for the purposes of building an art museum on the property. In 1911, the Gallery entered into an Agreement with the City of Toronto to operate the land south of Grange House as a public park. This agreement still stands between the AGO and the City, and Grange Park has become a well-loved and well-used neighbourhood park.
In the mid-1970’s, Grange Park was expanded through the South East with the closure of Grange Road (from Beverley to John) and John Street (from Stephanie to Grange Road), to establish the area that comprises the park today.