According to a boundary description from 819, the area around today's Moosbach was assigned to the Chammünster monastery, which later founded a village with a chapel here. Moosbach itself is mentioned for the first time in the oldest Wittelsbacher Urbarbuch (1222–1228) together with some surrounding villages. Around this time the construction of a church in Moosbach also falls. In the oldest parish register of the Diocese of Regensburg from 1326 Moosbach is already listed as a parish.
The municipality of Moosbach emerged in 1818 from the former municipalities of Moosbach, Rubendorf and Viechtafell. This included the former main teams Moosbach and Rubendorf as well as a considerable part of the main team Prackenbach. 1952 belonged to the municipality Moosbach in the district Viechtach 23 districts. It was incorporated into the Prackenbach community on May 1, 1978 as part of the regional reform in Bavaria.
The “Free State of Bavaria” is renowned for being culturally unique and for the emphasis which it places on preserving its heritage and traditions. It is also extraordinarily beautiful, boasting a plethora of castles, palaces, cathedrals, abbeys and monasteries not to mention spectacular scenery. Bavaria is more than Alps, men in “lederhosen” (leather pants), women in “dirndl” (traditional dresses) and frothy glasses of beer by the “maβ” (liter).