The cast-iron cow is the iconic sculpture of Guangji Bridge. In the second year of Yongzheng in the Qing Dynasty (1724), when the prefect Zhang Ziqian rebuilt the Guangji Bridge, he cast two oxen and placed them on the east and west piers respectively, which means "to stabilize the bridge and protect the water" to pray for avoiding floods. In the 22nd year of Daoguang's reign (1842), a flood destroyed the pier of the East Bridge where Tieniu was located, and the surnamed Niu also fell into the river. There was a folk song in Chaozhou called "Two raw cows and one slipped away".
There is also a folk legend that touching the Iron cow will bring good luck.