The Konitsa Bridge is a unique bridge due to its location and construction. It was built in 1871 and costed 120.000 Turkish lira. The builder was Ziogas Frontzos from the village of Pyrsogianni.
This was the second attempt to bridge the Aoos river since a previous bridge designed by Turkish engineers collapsed.
The story has it than when Ziogas finished the bridge the Turkish engineers who had failed to complete the project asked him in which University he had studied and Ziogas replied proudly: "In the University of Pyrsogianni!"
The road is very narrow, just 2 meters wide. It is curved upwards like most of the Epirus bridges. The road is cobblestoned and when it climbs up sharply there is a wide step with a slope upwards. The Konitsa bridge had a bell underneath that rings with the wind movement as it comes out of the Aoos valley. The ringing of the bell warned approaching travellers of the impending danger. The bell is still there!
The bridge builders tried to make the passage of the bridge safer and for this reason they placed "arkades" - stones placed verically on the sides of the bridge and later they added small balustrades.