Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


Church of San Romano martyr - San Romano in Garfagnana, Lucca, Tuscany-Italy

A small square in front of the Church of San Romano martire, in the village of San Romano in Garfagana which is an Italian town of 1 406 inhabitants in the province of Lucca in Tuscany, part of the Tuscan-Emilian Apennine National Park. In the area there are Ligurian and Roman settlements. In the Middle Ages it was ruled by the Gherardinghi who owned the castle of Verrucole and to the south by the Counts of Bacciano, owners of a castle now destroyed. The territory was ruled by the Este family from the sixteenth century until the unification of Italy.

The cult of San Romano spread in Lucchesia and Garfagnana, when in the thirteenth century his relics arrived in Lucca. The church is of Romanesque origins.
We visited the medieval village and the church before going to the Verrucole Fortress, in the hottest hours of the day when the streets were deserted. No noise, from the windows you could hear only the voices of the inhabitants intent on having lunch and the noise of their forks on the plates ...

View More »

Copyright: Massimo Storari
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 23000x11500
Taken: 20/08/2020
Uploaded: 20/08/2020


Tags: medieval village; tuscany; italy; small square; romanesque church; terrace; belvedere; art; architecture; sun; warm; sunny square; history; culture; bell tower; potted plants; blue sky; midday; san romano in garfagnana; garfagnana
More About Tuscany

The Tuscany, one of the most beautiful Italian regions, is known throughout the world for its Landscapes and for the Works of Art that it houses (It is the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance). Six localities have been designated World Heritage Sites: the Historical Center of Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and Pienza, the Square of the Cathedral of Pisa with the Leaning Tower and the Val d'Orcia. It is in the central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna (north), Marche and Umbria (east) and Lazio (South). The West coast is bathed from the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Sea; here we can find the islands of the Tuscan archipelago including the island of Elba. The regional capital is Florence and the other provinces are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.