Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us

This panorama is not currently enabled for commercial licensing. Click here to ask us to help you find a replacement. If this is your panorama, Click here This panorama is not currently enabled for commercial licensing.



Pontecosi lake, Pieve Fosciana in Garfagnana, Lucca - Italy

A romantic and bucolic place, Pontecosi lake is located in Garfagnana, near Lucca.

The Pontecosi basin dates back to 1925 when the dam on the Serchio river was built. The lake is also fed by the Fosso di Corfino coming from the artificial lake of Villa Collemandina. The lake is characterized by a rich fauna that makes it one of the most important wintering places in the area, so much so that in the winter you can admire coots and wild ducks of various species.
A peculiarity of the lake is that its shores are located on two different municipalities: Castelnuovo di Garfagnana and Pieve a Fosciana. On the Castelnovese shore there is an “Oasis of the Lake” which is a walk surrounded by greenery where you can practice sport fishing. Along the Castelnovese lake, where I took the photograph, we found covered structures with benches and tables, grills and barbecues, fountains with water. From this side you can admire a beautiful reeds and in the background the church of the Madonna del Ponte with the nearby humpback bridge, typical of the Middle Ages. The sunset lights make this place magical.

View More »

More About Tuscany

The Tuscany, one of the most beautiful Italian regions, is known throughout the world for its Landscapes and for the Works of Art that it houses (It is the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance). Six localities have been designated World Heritage Sites: the Historical Center of Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and Pienza, the Square of the Cathedral of Pisa with the Leaning Tower and the Val d'Orcia. It is in the central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna (north), Marche and Umbria (east) and Lazio (South). The West coast is bathed from the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Sea; here we can find the islands of the Tuscan archipelago including the island of Elba. The regional capital is Florence and the other provinces are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.