Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


Sambuca village and church, San Romano in Garfagnana, Lucca- Italy

SAMBUCA is a  very small village in the municipality of San Romano in Garfagnana ; it'is located at 395 meters above sea level.                        Little is known of its origins, but it was mentioned for the first time in the papal "Bull" drawn up by Pope Alexander III on 23 December 1168 in Benevento.                                                                                               It stands on a lava promontory and was a stronghold of the Este family. Probably in 400 the church was erected using the base of the fortress abandoned for wars and plagues and the lookout tower was transformed into a bell tower. The building suffered damage following the seismic event of 1920 and was restored in 1927.

The upper Serchio valley offers spectacular, green, silent views, which bring the mind to other times. The warm light of the late afternoon brings out the colors of the earth and nature...........romantic and bucolic place......

View More »

Copyright: Massimo Storari
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 23000x11500
Taken: 19/08/2020
Uploaded: 20/08/2020


Tags: medieval village; tuscany; italy; romanesque church; belvedere; art; architecture; sun; warm; history; culture; bell tower; blue sky; midday; small village; woods; landscape; mountains; serchio valley; lava hills; august afternoon; stone houses; warm light; romantic; bucolic
More About Tuscany

The Tuscany, one of the most beautiful Italian regions, is known throughout the world for its Landscapes and for the Works of Art that it houses (It is the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance). Six localities have been designated World Heritage Sites: the Historical Center of Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and Pienza, the Square of the Cathedral of Pisa with the Leaning Tower and the Val d'Orcia. It is in the central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna (north), Marche and Umbria (east) and Lazio (South). The West coast is bathed from the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Sea; here we can find the islands of the Tuscan archipelago including the island of Elba. The regional capital is Florence and the other provinces are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.