Open Map
Close Map
Projections and Nav Modes
  • Normal View
  • Fisheye View
  • Architectural View
  • Stereographic View
  • Little Planet View
  • Panini View
Click and Drag / QTVR mode
Share this panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
This panorama can be embedded into a non-commercial site at no charge. Read more
Do you agree to the Terms & Conditions?
For commercial use, contact us
Embed this Panorama
For Non-Commercial Use Only
For commercial use, contact us


San Cristoforo, Cathedral of Barga -Lucca , Italy

The Cathedral of Barga stands on a very particular place, facing Monte Forato, a relief on the top of which stands a rocky spur that erosion has modeled in the shape of an arch. This opening means that twice a year, the spectacle of the double sunset occurs,  the perfect alignment of the sun with the buttresses of Monte Forato: when the sun in its apparent motion sets behind the Forato, a second flash of light finds a new passage to irradiate the Lucca part of the Apennines for a short period. Even today, the inhabitants gather and party to admire this natural phenomenon.

The Cathedral of San Cristoforo in Barga is a Romanesque jewel in the highest part of the center of the village which, on the outside, almost resembles a fortress. The original building dates back to before the year 1000 but was modified in the following centuries, with decorative elements ranging from Romanesque to Gothic. The panorama on the roofs and on the surrounding mountains , in this August afternoon , is beautiful.

View More »

Copyright: Massimo Storari
Type: Spherical
Resolution: 23000x11500
Taken: 17/08/2020
Uploaded: 17/08/2020


Tags: italy; tuscany; garfagnana; barga; duomo; san cristoforo; panoramic terrace; panorama; mountains; sunset; warm light; golden light; illuminated stone; romanesque architecture; bell tower; cypresses; roofs; ancient village; belvedere; church
More About Tuscany

The Tuscany, one of the most beautiful Italian regions, is known throughout the world for its Landscapes and for the Works of Art that it houses (It is the birthplace of the Italian Renaissance). Six localities have been designated World Heritage Sites: the Historical Center of Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and Pienza, the Square of the Cathedral of Pisa with the Leaning Tower and the Val d'Orcia. It is in the central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna (north), Marche and Umbria (east) and Lazio (South). The West coast is bathed from the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Sea; here we can find the islands of the Tuscan archipelago including the island of Elba. The regional capital is Florence and the other provinces are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.

It looks like you’re creating an order.
If you have any questions before you checkout, just let us know at and we’ll get right back to you.